Discovery

On water flow

 Canal de lOurcq

Canal de l'Ourcq

Crossing our region from North to South, the Ourcq Canal is an original and unique construction achievement. It is both the narrowest of the French canals called “flûtes“, and also one of most surprising with its clever installation layout, as evidenced by the Villers-lès-Rigault pumping station. In 1802, Bonaparte orders construction of a diversion canal of the “Ourcq“ river, with an aim of providing water to Paris and to transport goods. The construction is undertaken from 1806 to 1822 by Pierre Simon Girard, chief engineer of the Highways Department.  

 

 Rserve Rgionale du Grand Voyeux

Réserve régionale naturelle du Grand Voyeux

In this winding part of the Marne, located in Congis-sur-Thérouanne, where a sand and gravel pit once existed, nature has reclaimed its rights. The field extends over an area of 160 hectares. Bodies of water, ponds, and groves of poplar trees or sticky elm trees constitute today a haven of peace for numerous species of insects, reptiles, small mammals and especially rare birds. The “AVEN of Grand Voyeux” ensures the scientific monitoring of this area, which became a regional nature reserve in November 2012. (Guided tour by reservation).  

To visit please contact : contact@maisondugrandvoyeux.fr

Information : http://maisondugrandvoyeux.fr/

 

Villers-ls-Rigault - Congis 

Usine élévatoire de Villers-lès-Rigault

Inaugurated in 1868, this installation designed by hydraulic engineer Louis-Dominique Girard, allows water to be pumped from the Marne and thrusts it into the Ourcq canal located 12 meters higher up.

This gigantic machine can be visited by making reservations from the AFLO* - Guided tours for groups and students by appointment at : 06 88 60 66 19.

*Association Au Fil de l'Ourcq – Rue du Grand Voyeux – 77440 Villers-lès-Rigault

77440 CONGIS-SUR-THEROUANNE
Mobile : 06 88 60 66 19

E-mail : visites@aufildelourcq.org 

Website : www.aufildelourcq.org

 

 

Haut de page ^